Christmas, Christmas!

There are many ways to celebrate Christmas. There are even more ways to define it. Not all Christmases are merry and bright; and not all are blue either.

This is not the first time that I am not spending Christmas with my family. Last year, I was in my pastoral exposure at the parish of the Visitation of Mary in Alfonso Lista, Ifugao; this year, I am here in the novitiate of my congregation.

I was touched by the homily of the priest in last night’s Mass. He said that the best thing we can offer to the Lord is our heart but Christmas season is the best time for us to examine what is inside our hearts. Our heart may be full of H – hatred, E – envy, A – anger, R – resentment, and T – timidity. The priest added that Christmas is the time to let go of these negativities and start on living with H – humility, E – enthusiasm, A – acceptance, R – readiness, and T – tenderness. I admit that for the past few months, due to what I have experienced, my heart was filled with many negative feelings and emotions. I pray for the grace of healing that I may be able to let go and let God’s mercy flow in and through me. May the Christ child strengthen my faith to forgive, the way he has forgiven me, may He also help me to see Him in people around me.

Jesus, my heart is not perfect but nevertheless, through the intercession of Mary, our mother, I invite you to come to my heart that I may be transformed more and more into your likeness. I believe that my weaknesses make me more attractive to you, the more you see how weak I am in many ways, the more you want to fill me with your strength. Jesus, come and dwell in my poor and sinful heart.

After the Mass this morning, we all went to our community in Quezon City. It was a joyful experience to celebrate Christmas with our brothers in the congregation. We had a nice meal together.

We’re now back here in the novitiate to continue our Christmas celebration, we will have our own party and exchange gifts tonight. After the party, we are planning to watch Paranormal Activity – our way of ending our celebration hahaha 🙂

May this Christmas brings you fullness of joy and peace, all in the name of Jesus. Again, Merry Christmas!

Leave a comment